At its formation in 1994 the Allegheny Plateau Division consisted of seven counties; Venango, Clarion, Forest, Elk, Jefferson, Clearfield, and Cameron, all in Pennsylvania. In August of 2005, the division incorporated as a Pennsylvania non-profit, non-stock corporation. In 2008, Clinton County was transferred from Division 11 of the Mid-Eastern Region to the Allegheny Plateau Division. In September of 2015, the inactive Allegheny Highlands Division of the Niagara Frontier Region was dissolved. All of its counties in Pennsylvania and New York were transferred to the Mid Central Region. That region transferred five counties (two in New York, three in Pennsylvania) to the Allegheny Plateau Division. Then in May of 2017 those counties were transferred again, this time to Division 5 of the Mid Central Region. That returned this division to its pre-2015 post-2008 size and shape.

The Allegheny Plateau Division holds 12 meetings each year, usually on the third Sunday of the month (in June, second Sunday, to avoid Fathers Day), often at the home of a member. The usual meeting includes an operating session or other activity, a Bring and Brag contest exposition contest, and a business meeting. The meetings in summer months are often held in conjunction with special events, a pattern which is likely to continue in future years. Persons who are not members are welcome to participate as guests, although that welcome does not extend to holding elected office or voting on business matters. December is reserved for the division awards banquet. In recent years it has been held on a Saturday early in December. The date of the banquet depends strongly on the availability of a hall. In 2015 through 2023, rather than a banquet, the division held an awards breakfast due to the division's participation in Brookville's Victorian Christmas celebration and other seasonal activities.

The Allegheny Plateau Division publishes a monthly newsletter, the Keystone Corridor. The newsletter subscription fee supports the newsletter and this web site. See Keystone Corridor page for rates. Subscribers are encouraged to receive their newsletter as an e-mailed PDF file. However, as we have a few members who do not have internet access, a black and white printed copy can be mailed. See the newsletter page for more detail.

What are these and things?
or on this or other pages indicates that an item is new or revised or points to something new or revised.

Other pages on this siteOther NMRA sites
NMRA National
    Mid Central Region web site Facebook page
    Division 1 The Akron-Canton-Youngstown Division
Division 2 The Keystone Division
Division 3 The Miami Valley Division
Division 4 The North Coast Division
Division 5 The Western Reserve Division
Division 6 The Buckeye Division
Division 7 The Cincinnati Division
Division 8 Central Kentucky and Southern Indiana
Division 9 The Coal Division
Division 10 Kentucky Division
Division 11 This Division's Facebook page and Forum
Division 12 Alleghany Western Division